Tags

, , , ,

Posting this a bit late, but hey, have had internet issues & thought I would try again today.

Last week was a cold and frosty one. When I let the dogs out and went to check the goats first thing, my breath was taken away by the beauty of the hoar frost on everything, and the way the morning sun filtered through and lit up our little corner of the world in a frosty glittering wonderland.

There is something almost magical about the silence and peacefulness on a cold frosty morning. This particular morning it was so serene, amazing how I do not notice the cold when I am properly inspired to get good shots.

Hoar frost (or radiation frost) are the white ice crystals that form on cold clear nights when heat losses into the night skies cause the objects to become colder than the surrounding air.

Hoar frost may have different names, depending on where it is formed. This is an example of air hoar, which is a deposit of hoar frost on objects above the surface, such as tree branches, plant stems, or wires.

All of the trees were covered by air hoar. I tried to capture the glittering beauty of the sunlight illuminating the ice crystals as seen through the trees. I must admit the picture does not do it justice.

The trees were really quite beautiful, and once again, I was amazed at God’s handiwork. I am glad I took time to enjoy the affect and appreciate it as fully as possible. I have no doubt that several people that morning simply rushed off to where ever it was they were expected and did not even notice this wonder of nature.

I wish more people would take the time to fully appreciate everything around them. Something as mundane as a clump of dried grass can be delightful if not just stepped over on the way to their desired destination.

It did not take long at all for the frost to melt off in the morning sunlight. Kind of sad in a way that something so wonderful simply disappears and leaves basically no trace of it’s existence. Such is the way of the world, and nature in general. I am so glad that I took five short minutes to appreciate this frosty morning.

A very cropped close up of the hoar frost. I love how some of the crystals look like flowers, little ice crystal flowers.

Not quite as cropped, but still up close & personal. I love that I have a place to get shots like this!

Tie down hook on the trailer, perfectly “frosted”

I like to think that I can find the allure in objects that most people would not even give a second glance. In my opinion, when I make the choice to notice and respect the simplest of things, my life is much happier and content. Rather than rush through everything and stress over the tiniest of issues, take a breath and find beauty in something you never thought particularly attractive before that moment.

