Tags

, , , ,

This is supposed to be pineapple bars… I think it turned out more like a crisp, though if I am careful I can get an entire piece out instead of a spoonful… I was worried it might be too rich, and sweet… But I don’t think they are too much of either. I changed the recipe I had a bit, and think it turned out pretty well. I included the recipe I used with my variations below in case you might want to try it out.

Pineapple Bars

Ingredients

  • 1 can crushed pineapple with juice (15-1/2 – 16 oz)
  • 1 C white sugar
  • 2 1/2 T cornstarch
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 3/4 C shortening
  • 1 C packed brown sugar
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 1/2 C rolled oats

Directions

  1. To Make Pineapple Filling: Mix 1 can crushed pineapple and juice, 1 cup sugar, 2 1/2 Tablespoons cornstarch, 1 Tablespoon butter, and 1 Tablespoon lemon juice. Cook until thickened, cool.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  3. Cream together shortening, vanilla and sugar thoroughly. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Mix in rolled oats. Mixture should have a crumby texture. Press and flatten half of the mixture over bottom of a 13 x 9 1/2 x 2 inch greased pan. Spread with cooled filling.
  4. Top with remaining crumb mixture, patting lightly. Bake 25 to 30 minutes, or until lightly browned. Let cool,  cut into bars and remove from pan if desired
